About the Award

Acclaimed for its standard of excellence, the Award is held every two years in Shepparton, Victoria and represents a true test of artistic talent and technical mastery in the world of classical piano.

Aged between 21 and 35 years, 14 pianists will compete for the top honour, national recognition, concert engagements and $68,000 in cash and prizes, funded by our valued sponsors.

Session times and dates and tickets can be booked through this link to Riverlinks or phone them on 03 5832 9511.  

The Australian National Piano Award is designed by Max Cooke and Darryl Coote.

Download information booklet View past winners

Mission Statement

The Australian National Piano Award Shepparton Inc. (ANPA) promotes and directs a competition embodying the highest of national and international music standards, recognises the pursuit of excellence at a professional level and offers educational benefits as well as challenges to performers.

Whilst designed for the benefit and experience of Australian and Australian-based pianists, the demands expected of performers are of international calibre. It is anticipated that the winners will be mature and sensitive artists, those who continue to promote over the long term and with dignity, monumental works of the past, as well as other styles. ANPA winners will be persons who possess not only flair, technical brilliance and conviction of communication, but be also artists of depth, able to cultivate with true understanding the great traditions, thus connecting audiences with some of the supreme moments in human achievement.

The Australian National Piano Award Family

Australian National Piano Award Patrons

Patron in Chief

Her Excellency, The Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria 


Mr Julian Burnside AO, QC
Professor Gary McPherson DipMusEd, MMusEd, PhD, LTCL, FTCL

Australian National Piano Award Shepparton Inc. Board of Management

The Award is administered by the Board of the Australian National Piano Award Shepparton Inc.


Darryl Coote BMus (Hons), MMus, AMusA


Judith Longley

Chief Finance Officer

Barbara Evans FCA, RCA, DFP

Artistic Director

Max Cooke OAM, DipMus, MMus, 6ème Degré (Paris), FACE, OAM, Bundesverdienstkreuz

Board Members

Barbara Brown MBA, BLitt, BSW, BA
Julienne Tracy BMus, Dip Ed
Julian Wright, BSc(Hons), MBBS, MRCP, MD(Res), FRCP, FAcedMGd


Life Members

Mr Neil Werner OAM 

ANPA Associates

The Board is assisted by the Associates of the Australian National Piano Award, who support its aims and who have provided important assistance in areas of finance, public relations and local awareness.

The Associates are Roly Hunt, Carolyn Leslie, Daphne Turnbull, Lyn Bailey, Sian Wright, Ngaire Rikys and Anne Graesser. The Award also has Friends who become subscribers to its publications and who assist during the presentation of the Award, its masterclasses and other events.

Assistants to the Board
Music Co-ordinator

Carolyn Leslie AMusA

Piano Tuner & Technician

Shaun Catchpole

Catering Adviser

Jill Hayes

Mailing Co-ordinator

Alan Grinton MEd, BA (hons), AMusA, Grad Dip Comp

Special thanksGreater Shepparton City Council logo

Proudly supported by Greater Shepparton City Council