23 year old Wongthagi pianist, Joshua Hook

We're looking forward to meeting you Josh, thanks for giving us some insights about you and your life . . . .

Joshua Hooke

Name: Joshua Hooke

Age: 23

When is your birthday? 13/01/1993

Where do you live this year when in Australia: On campus at the University of Melbourne

Do you still study & where – when will you finish? I am studying at the University of Melbourne. I will finish in the middle of 2017.

Are you a full-time professional musician? I am still studying. I suppose so, in the sense that it occupies most of my time and is the way in which I earn a living, although it hardly feels like a job!

What drew you to become a musician? The music.

Do you sometimes perform in an ensemble? Yes. I used to be in a semi- regular trio, however now we are all so busy, so I just enjoy playing chamber music whenever I can.

What is so special about the piano and its music? The infinite breadth and variety of great music.

What else can you play? I used to play trombone and drums, neither of them well.

Do you sing? In a choir, but that is all.

What are you hobbies and why are you passionate about them? Hiking, cooking, things that take you outside, away from the practice room.

Do you do a lot of travel?  Where have you been overseas etc? I have done a bit of travelling, for lessons and a bit of performing. I have been to Europe and the UK.

What are your goals over the next two years? To keep studying, to learn as much as I can, to keep enjoying it.

Who inspires you and why? My teachers, as well as people studying in areas outside of music, from whom you always learn so much

Which musician inspires you any why?   The great pianists of the last century, Edwin Fischer, Clara Haskil, Dinu Lipatti etc. They play with a sincerity and a musical vision that is extremely moving.

Which composer’s music do you love and why? Schubert. His music comes from a place deep within that most other composers dare not look.

Do you play sports? I used to but I started to hurt my hands so had to stop. Basketball was the main sport I played.

Name 4 of your favourite things to do:

Listen to music; Go walking/running; Dance; Eat

What’s your idea of fashion/what do you prefer to wear? Nothing too neat. Op-shopping is always fun!

What car do you drive (give a description of it)? I don’t have a car

How do you relax and unwind from rehearsing? Walk or run. Watch a film.

How do you care for your back etc. (to stop injuries etc)? I don’t have any particular routine.

Do you love the movies? Yes

List at least three bars / favourite spaces to hang out in Australia and why? Wilson’s Promontory in Victoria (during summer, some of the most stunning beaches on the planet). Edinburgh gardens in Fitzroy, purely because it is associated with fond memories. Kakadu national park in the Northern Territory (both for the landscape and the memories).

What is your favourite alcoholic drink? Good beer.

Favourite meal / food / fruit and why? Good, simple pasta dishes. There is a lot of history and craftsperson ship that goes into making such a dish. Good, fresh, fish.

What do you hope to get out of this Australian National Piano Award? Just and opportunity to play as well as I can.

How long have you been rehearsing for this event? Since May

How did you hear about the Australian National Piano Award? Through the piano department at the Melbourne Conservatorium.