Key people

Patron in Chief

Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria


Mr Julian Burnside AO

Professor Barry Conyngham AM

Professor Gary McPherson

Life members

Professor Max Cooke OAM (Award co-founder and inaugural Artistic Director)  

Mrs Erna Werner (deceased)

Mr Neil Werner OAM 


President and Award co-founder – Darryl Coote

Secretary – Judith Longley

Chief Finance Officer – Barbara Evans

Board members

Barbara Brown, Julienne Tracy and Julian Wright


Lyn Bailey, Kerry Cameron, Lizanne Goodwin, Michael Goodwin, Anne Graesser, Roly Hunt, Carolyn Leslie, Ngaire Rikys and Daphne Turnbull.

Award support

Music coordinator – Carolyn Leslie

Piano tuner and technician – Shaun Catchpole

Database coordinator – Alan Grinton