Semi Finals Media Release - September 12

Order of performance for Friday September 12 - We have representatives from Victoria, Queensland and Tasmania - go team!

Even the ivories on the Steinway have felt the heat throughout this competition!

Even the Steinway’s ‘ivory keys’ have felt the heat of this contest leading up to The Semi-Final of the Australian National Piano Award

Since Monday 8 September, the rich tunes of classical music (works from Romantic, Baroque, French Impressionists and Australian contemporary)  have been performed on one of the best Steinway’s in Australia by 13 of the nation’s top, rising pianists (age 21-30).

The Australian National Piano Award (8-13 September) has secured centre stage in the arts precinct of Shepparton, providing the platform for 13 rising stars to shine under the spotlight and the scrutiny of three international judges and hundreds of passionate music lovers, daily. 

The 13 musicians have played two recitals each and today – Friday 12 September, the top five have been selected by adjudicators – Paul Badura-Skoda (Austria), Murray McLachlin (United Kingdom) and Wendy Lorenz (Australia).

Order of Performance from midday to 5pm at the Eastbank Centre, Shepparton:  4.15 pm Ends recitals and Jury discussion and then Three Grand Finalists will be announced by 5pm: Order of performance:

  • Daniel Le from Victoria
  • David Soo from Victroria
  • Alex Raineri from Queensland
  • Ben Austin from Tasmania
  • John Fisher from Queensland